City Council

The Ball Ground City Council consists of five members elected at large by the residents of Ball Ground. In order to qualify as a candidate for office, an individual must be at least 18 years old and have been a resident of the City of Ball Ground for at least twelve consecutive months prior to the date of qualification. Each post is elected City wide, and a candidate may simply choose which post number they wish to seek election to. Council terms are for four years.

Contact the City Clerk for additional information.

Andrenia Stoner, Council Member — Post #1

Elected: 1998

Andrenia Stoner is a life long resident of Ball Ground. She has one daughter, Julie.

She retired from Lockheed Martin Company after 38 years of service and is very active in her community and is always willing to lend a helping hand. Council Member is a member of the Georgia Municipal Association and was instrumental in achieving the Downtown Historic District designation.

Council Member Stoner is the Chair of the Finance, Insurance and Personnel Committee and the Co-Chair of the Roads, Street and Sidewalks Committee.

• Email Councilwoman Stoner

Lee Prettyman, Council Member — Post #2

Elected: 2004

Lee Prettyman has lived in Ball Ground since 2002. Lee came from the Reno, Nevada area where he operated a business for 22 years. Lee retired to Ball Ground with his wife Judy. They have 2 children and 2 grandchildren. Lee’s hobbies are raising alpacas, riding motorcycles and showing his antique cars. He is a member of the First Baptist Church of Canton, Ball Ground Masonic Lodge, Ball Ground Lions Club, Cherokee Chamber of Commerce, and Georgia Municipal Association.

Council Member Prettyman is Chair of the Parks and Recreation Committee and Co-Chair of the Water, Sewer and Sanitation Committee.

• Email Councilman Prettyman

Vicki Benefield — Post #3

Elected: 2021

Mrs. Benefield was sworn in on November 18, 2021 to fill an unexpired Post #3 City Council seat.

Vicki and her husband, Bob first moved to Ball Ground in 2003, moving into the city in 2016.  She has been an active volunteer within Cherokee County since 1991 and has been involved with many charities.  As an entrepreneur, she developed an in-depth knowledge of research, writing, and maintaining government and private grants.  As a former congressional representative, Vicki is experienced in working with constituents and assisting them in resolving any issues they had. She brings experience, conservative values, commitment, and a keen desire to serve the people in our city.  “I am not a politician; I am a citizen who genuinely cares about Ball Ground and the people who live and work here.”

Council Member Benefield is a member of the Downtown Development Authority, Chair of the Roads, Streets and Sidewalks Committee and Co-Chair of the Parks and Recreation Committee.

• Email Councilwoman Benefield

Kristine Rogers, Council Member — Post #4

Elected: 2022

Kristine and her husband, Donald, moved to Ball Ground in 2006. They currently reside in the Historic District in downtown. Kristine and Donald have two daughters, Alexis and Courtney. Alexis works at Northside Cherokee Hospital, and Courtney is a police officer. In 1990, Kristine graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. Kristine worked as a Finance Director for a private college in Tampa, Florida. Since then, Kristine has been involved in various aspects of community outreach and volunteer work within the communities she has resided. Kristine has the best interest of both the citizens and the city in mind, and she looks forward to serving the community.

Council Member Rogers is the Chair of the Public Safety Committee and the Co-Chair of the Finance, Insurance and Personnel Committee.

• Email Councilwoman Rogers

Dennis Nelson, Council Member — Post #5

Elected: 2022

Dennis and his wife, Dawn live in the Mountain Brooke North subdivision. They have lived in Cherokee County for 26 years and three years in Ball Ground. They have two grown boys on their own now. One is a high school science and biology teacher and the other is a Sheriff’s deputy and former combat United States Marine veteran. They have three grandchildren.

Dennis has a 41-year career in law enforcement and has held top executive positions with several Georgia law enforcement agencies. Currently, he oversees a department of 150 full time employees in the area of corrections, code enforcement, refuse control and beautification.

Council Member Nelson is the Mayor Pro-Tem, Chair of the Water, Sewer and Sanitation Committee and the Co-Chair of the Public Safety Committee.

• Email Councilman Nelson

© 2004- by the City of Ball Ground, Georgia … All Rights Reserved
Website Development: StudioSR, LLC
Employees Only